Bracadale Holiday Cottages Skye Review

The place to stay at Skye

7 Location
9 Sleep Quality
10 Rooms
9 Service
8 Value
10 Cleanliness
7 Accessibility
3 Internet
7.9

We went to Isle of Skye in November. I researched for a long time about accommodation in the beautiful island. My selection criterion were:

  • Room quality
  • Availability for short stay (3 nights)
  • Location (I wanted to live in the middle of Skye so that it’s easy to travel both up and down the island)
  • Price

Based on these, I selected Bracadale Holiday Cottages and I am glad I did so. Bracadale Holiday Cottages consists of three separate cottages in the same compound. The owners themselves (Irina and Tony) live onsite just up the hill behind the cottages and they both are wonderful people. We lived in the cottage named “Heron” which can house five (1 double, 1 twin and 1 single bed) people. It was very well furnished and clean. When we arrived (late, around 8PM) Irina had left a welcome message on the fridge and had baked us a lemon curd cake. She came over soon and explained everything. Tony came over half and hour later with a bag full of toys for Arshan which was extremely nice of them.

The next day when we woke up and looked outside the window I was so glad I chose this place to stay. The view outside the windows is just amazing because of the location of the cottages. There is also a picnic spot just behind the cottages where we had our breakfast. Like all self catered cottages, the kitchen had all the required utensils and appliances but you need to remember to bring your own grocery. The nearest store is about 10 minutes by car. We found it easy to travel to all parts of the isle from our location so it was a good base to start from each day. At night it is very very quiet but the night sky is beautiful, full of stars (see the last photos). The cottage had a fireplace with wood provided so it’s quite romantic at night.

What I liked about the cottage:

  • Recently renovated
  • Spacious room
  • Clean
  • Good location
  • Great even for larger group because you can hire all 3 cottages

What I didn’t like about the cottage:

  • Electricity is not included and has to be paid separately
  • Poor WiFi

Even though I have mentioned poor WiFi, it is actually because of the location of WiFi router (not the Internet connection itself) which sits atop the middle cottage which means I only had WiFi connection if I sat at the edge of the living room towards the middle cottage. If I had stayed at the middle cottage, I’d probably have perfectly working and strong WiFi connection. Hopefully Irina can replace the router with a more powerful one so that WiFi covers all three cottages. There is also no mobile network coverage (EE or O2) at the location of the cottages.

In summary, I would definitely recommend the cottages to anyone visiting Isle of Skye.

 

DSC_1376DSC_1320 DSC_1322 DSC_1337 DSC_1328DSC_1326 DSC_1327  DSC_1334  DSC_1340 DSC_1343 DSC_1325DSC_1373  DSC_1409 DSC_1424 DSC_2274 DSC_2281 DSC_2293

Tags from the story
, , , , , , ,
More from russell_anam@hotmail.com

Canalway Cavalcade – Venice in London

Canalway Cavalcade in on again (May 2-4)  in Little Venice. That means boating...
Read More

2 Comments

  • Thank you so much for your very kind review Russell. We’re so glad you had a good break, having come so far to this gorgeous island.
    I will certainly speak to our computer guru about the strength of the connection in all the cottages, thank you for the heads up. As to phone signal, O2 is certainly normally ok at the cottages but sometimes you have to wander around a bit to pick it up. You may have unfortunately been unlucky during your stay.
    I note that you would have preferred to have had your fuel included in the rental. This we take on board hoping that you would realise that your rental would then be higher. As mentioned on our website, our current rentals reflect the fact that fuel is payable separately. This leaves the level of usage in your own hands which one might argue, is more equitable for all but I appreciate, not as convenient. The “green” advantage of self-regulation is a given.
    Once more, thank you for your lovely input. Have fun with your sweet wee lad on your future travels.
    Irina and Tony

    • Thanks Irina. I definitely understand and that’s why I recommended the cottages to anyone wishing to travel to Skye.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *